You and Me, a sonnet

Do you see the grey clouds forming,
There between, beyond the tall tree,
With bundles of green fruit at its fingertips

Bowling, thunder, warning it’s near,
I rest my red wine, and flip a page,
Looking up, sidetracked, by the thought of you

The cool air brushes my legs, arm hairs,
My neighbor packs her car with her man,
I have no intent to leave this weekend

Losing my place I close the book,
My concentration moving with the clouds
The stillness, absence, vacancy of you and me

Red sea, rivers into my bloodstream, tiny hands around my waist,
My lips extend, and kiss the rain

~ Eugenio Saenz Jr.

Leave a Reply

